The Passing of the Gavel

The passing of the gavel symbolizes a transfer of leadership and the sounding of the gavel signifies proper order and government and is a familiar sound to us in the Church. The Overseer gives the opening statement, “By the authority vested in me,” and a formal declaration, “for all business to properly come before the Convention,” and in many cases it commences and concludes with the “tap, tap, tap.”

The recent change of appointments at the highest tribunal of authority, brings about such transition of leadership with the purpose and determination of continuing forward and faithfully building atop the good labors of the previous leaders. Alabama has had 39 State Overseers through the years, one taking the reins as the next was called to other fields of labor. The first State Overseer, V. W. Kennedy was appointed January 7, 1911 during the 6th Annual General Assembly.

  1. V. W. Kennedy  1911-1912
  2. George C. Barron (-Dec.)  1912
  3. J. B. Ellis (Jan.-Nov.)  1913
  4. George T. Brouayer (Nov.-Dec.)  1913
  5. W. S. Gentry   1914-1915
  6. T. S. Payne    1916-1917
  7. J. B. Ellis   1917-1918
  8. Z. D. Simpson   1919-1920
  9. W. S. Wilemon  1921-1922
  10. G. C. Dunn   1922-Disruption
  11. George T. Brouayer  1923-1924
  12. T. J. Byerly   1924-1925
  13. L. A. Moxley   1925-1929
  14. H. R. Jacobs   1929-1930
  15. W. T. Holland  1930-1931
  16. M. C. Harvey  1931-1932
  17. W. I. Campbell  1932-1933
  18. W. T. Holland  1933-1938
  19. G. W. Durham  1938-1944
  20. C. J. Cunningham  1944-1947
  21. Roy Phipps   1947-1958
  22. L. V. Jones Sr.   1958-1960
  23. E. A. McDonald  1960-1964
  24. Amos Creel   1964-1968
  25. James Staggs  1968-1973
  26. M. S. Curry   1973-1978
  27. Harper Hunter  1978-1982
  28. Hubert Vicars  1982-1987
  29. J. Eddie Mounce  1987-1991
  30. Hugh Edwards  1992 – Disruption
  31. James Staggs  1993-1995
  32. J. C. Robinson  1995-2004
  33. James C. Anders  2004-2005
  34. James Nabors   Finish 2005
  35. Jim O. Carr   2005-2006
  36. James C. Anders  2006-2007
  37. Robert J. Hawkins  2007-2010
  38. James R. Horne  2010-2018
  39. Jerry Cox   2018-Present

As Alabama receives its new Overseer on October 1st, please be encouraged to support, pray for and embrace Brother Cox and his family. They are dear friends that love holiness, the Church, her doctrine and Advice, and they will continue, as so many of those who have served before them, to work for the good of the State. 

“Obey them that that have the rule over you, and submit yourselves: for they watch for your souls, as they that must give account, that they may do it with joy, and not with grief: for that is unprofitable for you” (Heb. 13:17).